PDA

View Full Version : Bots SLIDING?


{NyB}CannibleCorpse
20th March, 2005, 01:48 AM
Hey all I have started adminning for a friend of mine and I noticed on his server, his bots will just slide around or fall to the floor and flop like a fish out of water, no jumping, dodging or anything of the kind. Players with Pings won't even dodge, they just slide around too! It is actually kinna crazy but makes a mess of an intense game. Some maps you will spawn in, be able to fire your weapon, but you cannot move. You can still type to chat with others, but it appears in white like and admin message with no ADMIN before the message. This happens to alot of players, but not all of them. Any ideas what is up with that and how to fix it? All help is appreciated!

Azura
20th March, 2005, 02:25 AM
This is a problem with the hi-res textures. Expect a half dozen replies from admins that have seen the problem occur and how to fix it :p .

{NyB}CannibleCorpse
20th March, 2005, 02:29 AM
Cool I look forward to the responses and how to fix it!

BLTicklemonster
20th March, 2005, 06:24 AM
I may be wrong, but see if the ut.ini file has this line in it

UseS3TC=True

If so, change it to False. I think that true should only be set on a client, not a server.

{NyB}CannibleCorpse
20th March, 2005, 09:22 AM
Hey Tickle, thank you for the reply. I did find the setting you mentioned and it was in the OPENGL section of one of the servers I admin, but not the one I have the problems with. I added this line to the ini file, but it still doesn't seem to work. Any other ideas? Should I copy all the OPENGL settings from the well working server to the hosed server? Think it will help? Also I was looking at the Hi-res textures on the second CD of UT and they are quite BIGGER than the ones on the server. I would venture out and say that they are not installed on the server at all, judging by file size. Any thoughts on this? Thank you all again, your all very helpful!

MrWhite
20th March, 2005, 10:15 AM
Yes it’s the textures that is the problem
There are 3 different textures, hi-res on cd2, normal on cd1, and a lite version on the “server only download”
If the client uses OpenGL and hi-res textures players will slide on servers with lite textures.
You can copy the textures from cd1 overwriting the ones on the server to solve the problem!

Azazel
20th March, 2005, 10:44 AM
Yes it’s the textures that is the problem
There are 3 different textures, hi-res on cd2, normal on cd1, and a lite version on the “server only download”
If the client uses OpenGL and hi-res textures players will slide on servers with lite textures.
You can copy the textures from cd1 overwriting the ones on the server to solve the problem!
Thats the correct solution, ignore any muppet who tells you that you need CD2 :)

Hermskii
28th March, 2005, 03:51 AM
They are right about the textures but I've seen this happen going through a linksys router that still had the original firmware on it. Namely mine! It was a Linksys BFSEr41 I think and once I updated the firmware, the problems you mentioned went away. Good luck. Stick to the Texture answer unless you have this exact router.

EDIT- This is not correct. The router had nothing to do with the sliding bots. The router's older firmaware caused players to spawn in walls or halfway in the ground and they would be stuck and couldn't play. The sliding bots issue is strickly caused by the use of the extra large textures that come on CD#2 of the retail version of UT. Keep reading for the solution of this issue.

14th April, 2005, 01:27 PM
never install cd2 - i have broken this one ;)

2399Skillz
14th April, 2005, 07:05 PM
Well, a few good game types are on CD2. So if you have to install CD2, be sure you install CD1, over writing the stuff that CD2 overwrited.

Azazel
14th April, 2005, 07:34 PM
Theres nothing wrong with a client installing cd2, just don't put the textures from cd2 on the server .. the server just needs the proper cd1 textures.

PizzaMan
14th April, 2005, 07:40 PM
Theres nothing wrong with a client installing cd2, just don't put the textures from cd2 on the server .. the server just needs the proper cd1 textures.

CD2 textures on the client will cause the same problem. I dont know for sure if this is allways the case, but I know players who had that problem that installed the CD1 textures to sort it.

Azazel
14th April, 2005, 07:54 PM
The problem is with the server Pizzman not the client.
The server has the dedicated install textures which are not quite right.
Its a common mis-conception that it is the clients that are "broken"

PizzaMan
14th April, 2005, 10:52 PM
What ever the problem is in this case - I have the correct textures on my servers. A couple of my clan members installed the CD2 textures on their clients, after that they saw everyone sliding around. They installed the CD1 textures again, and everything was fine.

MrWhite
15th April, 2005, 01:25 AM
I went to one of your server to se the bots sliding.
I also deleted SGirlSkins.utx and let the game do a new download from your server,
it was only 114Kb (dedicated install texture size), the same file on cd1 is 6.89Mb.
Me and lots of other people like to use OpenGL and the high-res textures from cd2,
it looks and work great, especially with the new renderer from
http://cwdohnal.home.mindspring.com/utglr/
To bad we can’t play on every server ;)

tarnationsauce2
27th February, 2006, 07:04 PM
The problem is not the compressed textures. (common misconception)

The problem IS the "Lite" textures included w/ dedicated server.

You MUST use CD1 textures ON the SERVER. That way all clients will connect and use whatever textures they want without problems.

If the server uses CD2 OR Lite textures, expect bugs and complaining about slilding.

:D

Hermskii
28th February, 2006, 01:48 AM
There may be several different reasons for this to occur but I can tell you this from my experience; the sliding has only happened to me after installing CD#2 textures to my client install and playing on line. I can tell you for sure that servers don't need to nor ever should install the second CD textures. If you want to use the 2nd CD textures when you play UT using the OpenGL renderer then you just hit the jackpot my friend! Here is a link to a site where I posted a fix that if you actually follow all of the directions that are included, it can't fail:

http://forums.beyondunreal.com/showthread.php?t=169643

Do us a favor and come back here and tell us about how it is working for you now! I would also challenge anyone who uses this method to come back and say they still see sliding on ANY server. Yeah baby, it's just that good!

Azura
17th March, 2006, 08:05 AM
You MUST use CD1 textures ON the SERVER. That way all clients will connect and use whatever textures they want without problems.

This will also avoid problems with serverside demos.

Azazel
17th March, 2006, 08:34 AM
That exe fix is over 2 years old and amends the client, as such not a good fix imo.

CPanoplyd
17th March, 2006, 04:53 PM
Would this also work for the players who cannot move on the server?

Hermskii
20th March, 2006, 02:05 AM
Ummm Azazal? What are you talking about by saying it isn't a good fix? I respect your opinion but can't understand why you would say that. Who cares how old the fix is as long as it works? Yes it only fixes the client side meaning the player. Who else are we trying to fix? Are you also saying there is a better/newer fix out there than the one I mentioned. I'm not positive but I think the routine that I have offered is the only one out there actually declares that it will work. So far, not a single person has come back after trying it and said it did not work. Not one!

You are "The Man" here and like I said, I hold you and your opinion in very high regard but please explain your statement from above. It is the closest thing to negative I've heard about my option so far.

On another note about players being stuck from CPanoplyde who posted after Azazel: Please be more specific about players "who cannot move on the server." Are you saying they spawn and are unable to move about through the map or are you saying that they can move around on the map but when viewed they aren't animated so they look like statues sliding around the map?

CPanoplyd
20th March, 2006, 03:00 AM
The players can't move but slide around the map after we shoot them due to the momentum transfer and all the text is white. Basically the same problem in the first post....except no players are sliding around.

Hermskii
20th March, 2006, 07:37 AM
I don't know how to help you there. Sorry for that.

As far as the S3TC fix goes, I have rewritten the readme that I had originally put with the fix. I have not tested it but it now includes a fix for whether you have or have not installed the 2nd CD but want to install the UT CD #2 textures. It also has a back-up plan and such. I'm not positive but I think it is now safe to use no matter what. Here is the new readme and you better be sitting down:

*****Important**********

Read this entire document first.
Use this at your own risk!
This works best using a new installation of UT that has been patched up to 436 first.
This document explains how to successfully use the S3TC high resolution textures that come on UT CD #2 whether you have already installed the UT CD #2 (textures) or not.
These instructions are only for "player" installations and ABSOLUTELY NOT for server-side use!
This is only for use with the specific OpenGL Renderer mentioned below though later versions of it may work as well.
You must follow these directions exactly or they won't work!
Print this now if you can!

*****Important**********





Directions:

I have listed two sets of directions here. The set you will need to use will depend on your current UT installation status. Only use the set that matches your current UT installation. Choose which of the follwing best describes your current UT installation status:



Catagory #1:

You have installed UT but you have not installed the textures from UT CD #2 yet. You have UT CD #2 and you want to use it!


or...


Catagory #2:

You installed UT and you have also already installed the textures from UT CD #2 and are now needing to fix the sliding bot issue you see when you play on line. (Directions for this catagory are at the bottom of this page)




Follow these directions if you fall into Catagory #1:


Make a back-up copy of your entire current UnrealTournament\Textures folder. Do not touch this back up copy again unless I tell you to use it to restore your installation back to your original configuration. Make sure that your UT installation is currently patched up to the 436 patch and if not, patch it up!

Go to your UnrealTournament\Textures folder and move out these 3 files: SkyBox.utx, City.utx, and ShaneSky.utx to a temporary folder that is not your Back-Up Textures folder.

Install the second CD textures choosing to overwrite all of the originals but note that they take up about 500mb of space so be sure you have room on your drive before proceeding. Once that is done go into your UnrealTournament\Textures folder and move these 6 skin textures (Female1Skins.utx, Female2Skins.utx, Male1Skins.utx, Male2Skins.utx, Male3Skins.utx, and SkTrooperSkins.utx) to the temporary folder with the other 3 files from above.

Install the S3TC patch by copying it (s3fix.exe) into your texture folder and launching it. Wait for it to finish and close. Now go get all of the files you copied into your temporary folder and put them back into your texture folder choosing to overwrite the ones you just installed from the second CD.

Now we need to configure UT to use the specific OpenGL renderer mentioned above as your renderer by doing the following:

1. Go to your UnrealTournament\System folder.
2. Rename the file called OpenGLDrv.dll to OpenGLDrvOriginal.dll
3. Open your web-browser and paste in this link then hit enter to download the file you'll need to your computer:

http://cwdohnal.home.mindspring.com/utglr/utglr28.zip

4. Unzip the file and copy the OpenGLDrv.dll file to your UnrealTournament\System folder.
5. Start the game and from the UT Desktop select "Options"
6. Select "Preferences"
7. On the Video tab, select the Video Driver "Change" button.
8. A “Change Video Driver” option window will open. Select “Yes”
9. The “Unreal Tournament Video Configuration” window will open. Note your what your current renderer is. Click the radius for “Show all devices”
10. Select “OpenGL Support” so that it is highlighted in blue.
11. Select “Next”
12. Select “Next” again.
13. Select “Run"


Now you are using the OpenGL renderer but you still have to enable the S3TC functionality by doing the following. You enable them from within the game. Start and practice session and hit the tilde key, and type PREFERENCES. On the menu that opens select Renderers and then OpenGL Support. Now find the section called USES3TC= False and change it to True. Close everything and reboot. Reboot. Restart the game.

Try out the new textures now by connecting to multiplayer game on line. If everyone is moving around properly then you are successful! If you see what looks like frozen ice skating players moving around then this did not work for you. If it did not work then you need to go back to your original configuration by doing the following:

1. Copy the "Back-Up Textures" folder right back over your current Textures folder.
2. Start the game and from the UT Desktop select "Options"
3. Select "Preferences"
4. On the Video tab, select the Video Driver "Change" button.
5. A “Change Video Driver” option window will open. Select “Yes”
6. The “Unreal Tournament Video Configuration” window will open.
7. Select “D3D” or whatever your original renderer was so that it is highlighted in blue.
8. Select “Next”
9. Select “Next” again.
10. Select “Run" and that will almost restore you back to your original configration.

Go back into your UnrealTournament\System folder and delete the file named OpenGLDrv.dll and then rename the file OpenGLDrvOriginal.dll back to OpenGLDrv.dll and you will be back to your original configuration once you reboot.



Hopefully, this option/fix did not fail and you are now enjoying the S3TC high resolution textures with possibly a higher framerate and a more colorful video display.

Please send questions or comments to me at:


[email protected]<hidden>

or

www.Hermskii.com


Final Note: This OpenGL driver that I am linking to has a "Copyright 2002-2006" and belongs to Chris Dohnal. The page that this OpenGL driver I used came from is:

http://cwdohnal.home.mindspring.com/utglr/

I take no credit for his driver and if I knew who actually created the s3fix.exe file that this readme is attached to I would update this file to reflect that person's name so that they got their just due credit. Nice work by all entities for the driver and the fix!










Follow these directions if you fall into Catagory #2:


If you have already installed the S3TC high resolution textures from the UT CD #2 and then went online to play you noticed that all of the other players and bots moved without any animation. They looked like frozen players sliding around like they were ice skating on one foot while looking down. When a player died a frozen image of them stayed where they died but was standing up. This caused confusion since you would attack them thinking they were actual players that were standing still. This document explains how to install the S3TC high resolution textures again and fix it so that this frozen skating bot syndrome doesn't happen to you anymore. If this doesn't work for you then you will need to reinstall UT from the ground up.

Insert your UT CD #1 and select cancel if it tries to install. Open UT CD #1 and copy the folder called "Textures" over your current copy of the Textures folder in your UnrealTournament folder. Now follow all of the directions for Catagory #1.

Azazel
20th March, 2006, 06:08 PM
Its not a good fix because the issue lies with the server not the client so having many "patched" clients rather than a few corrected servers is not the right way to do it in my opinion.

Hermskii
21st March, 2006, 03:29 AM
Good point boss but the 2nd cd textures should never be installed on a server. I thought I read that somewhere and thought you even wrote it. If they aren't installed on the server than the problem won't exist in the first place I'm pretty sure. Thanks for the feedback!

BLTicklemonster
21st March, 2006, 03:47 AM
I don't have sliders, but I did long ago. No matter where I went, there they were. I changed the ini and it stopped, though. That was a long time and many hard drives ago, too. I'm not sure if I have the second cd installed or not, but I don't think I dare test it, because I have tons of .uc files I don't want to lose if I dweeb out. (yes, I can just install fresh and call it cleanut or something, but hey, that would take effort already!)

MrWhite
21st March, 2006, 09:58 AM
Good point boss but the 2nd cd textures should never be installed on a server. I thought I read that somewhere and thought you even wrote it. If they aren't installed on the server than the problem won't exist in the first place I'm pretty sure. Thanks for the feedback!

Hmm, maybe you should read this thread from the beginning again ;)

Hermskii
2nd February, 2007, 02:34 AM
I have reread this entire thing as you suggested Mr. White. Knowing now what I didn't know then I am still able to say with confidence that I was right being that I often said that the sliding bot problem that is related to the use of S3TC textures can be avoided if the server doesn't use the textures from CD2 but sticks with the ones from CD1. Then I went on to say that the fix for the problem does work and even handed out a instruction set to ensure that people could use it without problems provided the server didn't run S3TC textures as they should know not to.

Am I missing something that you wanted me to see?

g0sbv
21st October, 2007, 02:47 AM
Well I have been plagued by the sliding bot saga for a l;ong time now and tonight decided to try the fix and followed ur guide well...now I have no more sliding bots, no more sliding players and no more bots or players acting like a dog wiping its ass on the grass.
Thanks.

A|ice
21st October, 2007, 04:31 AM
My cats do that too.
Outside...on the grass.
Inside on the carpet would really be gross.

A|ice

g0sbv
21st October, 2007, 10:47 AM
Yea would cost a fortune in carpet cleaner..lmao

Hermskii
24th October, 2007, 03:42 AM
Great! Another happy customer. All of this S3TC stuff was done a long time ago it seems to me. Yes it still works too but I have seen another issue come up with it on certain cards. I think it happens to certain ATI cards but what I remember is the brightness on your normal desktop gets much brighter when you come out of a UT game. Nothing fixes it except rebooting. Another thing I noticed was sometimes when you came into the game it would be dark. Too dark actually and the slider would not effect the brightness. My only answer to it was to turn off the game and restart it. When Idid that, the brightness would then work when you adjusted it with the slider.

Still, I'm happy to hear it worked for you and I haven't yet gotten a complaint from anyone saying it didn't work that I can remember anyways. To be clear, that is based on that these S3TC textures are not installed on the server itself. They should never be installed on the server! Later!

Just_Me
24th October, 2007, 07:31 AM
Yes it still works too but I have seen another issue come up with it on certain cards. I think it happens to certain ATI cards but what I remember is the brightness on your normal desktop gets much brighter when you come out of a UT game. Nothing fixes it except rebooting.

123456789A