PDA

View Full Version : UT99 Map making thread

Pileyrei
20th June, 2012, 10:30 PM
So..................

I've decided to try my hand at map making.
Only 13 years or so after the game came out but hey - better late than never eh :thumbup:

I appreciate this is not a mapping forum but I know there are some clever folks here who will know the answers I need :cool:

Just to reiterate, I'm a complete beginner to mapping.
Yes I can make a cube, fill it with weapons and call it a "map".
But thats not really a map if you ask me. I'm drooling about making a map with many levels, lifts (movers), water/lava zones, secrets rooms, triggers, events, etc. But for now all my brain can comprehend in UED 2.0 is a single room and pretty textures :mellow:

Anyway, gotta start somewhere.

First questions:

1. After making a cube/room, can you resize it and if so how?

2. I'm struggling to fully understand the add/subtract options. I know you create a room/cube and subtract it from the mass void. When would you use the add? I think its when you want to add something to the subtracted space? Yes? :unsure: . I need some basic examples.

Many more questions to come but this is a small start.

Thank you.

Piley

UTrustedPlayer
21st June, 2012, 02:10 AM
Go here:
http://www.birrabrothers.com/drac/index.php?dsps=3
The dude on the page is BBDrac and he's a super nice guy. He likes helping new mappers and he's been doing it a very long time.

UT99.org is also a fairly active mapper forum.

Pileyrei
21st June, 2012, 12:11 PM
Go here:
http://www.birrabrothers.com/drac/index.php?dsps=3
The dude on the page is BBDrac and he's a super nice guy. He likes helping new mappers and he's been doing it a very long time.

UT99.org is also a fairly active mapper forum.

Thanks, I've been using those tuts!

It looks like the only way to contact him is by email, no forums?

I could be his super new pest :evil:

Thanks again.

YouKnowWho
22nd June, 2012, 06:14 PM