PDA

View Full Version : Chat Log


Azazel
15th June, 2004, 12:58 PM
Chat Log

2399Skillz
9th May, 2005, 09:31 PM
Information

----------------

BDB's webchatlogger is a wonderful mod; unfortunately, it can only be used on a server. Swedix "challenged" me to write a client-side chat logger and in consequence this is what came out.

This chat logger creates HTML files, with a similar format to webchatlog v 2.2. As levels change, new logs are opened. However, there are some differences, such as coloring different message types, rather than saying the type. Color key is as follows (I was too lazy to make this customizable :p):
-Green: A message sent to all players (with the say command)
-Light Blue: A message sent to all teammates (with the teamsay command)
-Red: A message indicating someone died (known as a deathmessage)
-Brownish red: A message that has to do with a kill. This includes headshots, first bloods, killing sprees, and multikills.
-Purple: A "pickup" message. These messages inform the user that he picked up something (weapon, ammo, inventory, etc.)
-Black: Any other event that does not fit the above catagories (flag capture, player joins/exits, etc.)

Note that you may configure which of the above message types are logged or not. Time messages, "you killed x", and "you were killed by x" messages are never logged. Also never logged are "console" type messages, such as "unrecognized command".

The player name column in the HTM file is filled for say and teamsay messages. The name is the same color as the players team (white for spectators and in deathmatch games).


Another advantage of a client-side chat logger is that it enables you to take chat logs of demos. :) A message summary was long requested with Unreal Tournament Demo Manager. While it would be hard to pull it straight off the demo file, it should be quite easy to simply run through the demo file with chat logger enabled, which will generate a log from the demo. (which would be identical to a log taken in the real game).

Jagged-Fel
16th September, 2005, 12:02 AM
is this the same ChatLog that makes you press its "Start" button every time you start up UT, before it will log anything?

It would be much better only have to "Start" it once, and have it stay on...having to press the silly button every day that you play/every time you start up UT is kind of unrealistic...

if anybody could release an always-on version of ChatLog, they'd have my undying gratitude...

Matthew
16th September, 2005, 03:25 AM
I think XConsole has this function you speak of...

LeeBe
16th September, 2005, 09:56 AM
I think XConsole has this function you speak of...

It does yes, though not as colourful, it does the job just as well.

http://www.unrealize.co.uk/

http://www.unrealize.co.uk/images/Shot0003.gif

BLTicklemonster
16th September, 2005, 01:54 PM
nice. now I wonder how someone would make a keybind so as to login to hidden admin and get keybinds off of people? I know now how to get logged in, already done that, but our other admin and I tried to set up where we could press a key and get logged in, query everyone for Id, IP whatnot, then get a list of actors and keybinds. All it got was actors from everyone, no keybinds.

(yeah, I know, why do it all at the press of a button? Some times a server gets busy and you want to keep playing and not be hassled with finding a corner, pressing ~ and typing in a bunch of stuff)

Matthew
16th September, 2005, 05:00 PM
make sure your command was correct

mutate ha showkeys X

Where X is the player's ID. You can't grab all player's keys at once.

BLTicklemonster
16th September, 2005, 06:28 PM
Yeah,

mutate ha showkeys 0
mutate ha showkeys 1
mutate ha showkeys 2
mutate ha showkeys 3
mutate ha showkeys 4

etc.

Right?

Matthew
16th September, 2005, 07:59 PM
ah yes that could work, but I dunno if you could give it commands that fast :)


For instance the ASC can only handle about 1 command a second due to the vast amount of code it has to look through to find a match to any random 'mutate asc' command.


Well anyway how did that work for you?

BLTicklemonster
16th September, 2005, 08:51 PM
It came right after showactors, which was a tremendous amount of garbage (well, from mine anyway), but never showed keybinds.

I'll mess around with it some tonight and see what happens. Thanks for your help Matthew.

Matthew
16th September, 2005, 10:09 PM
Hmm ya play around I guess :\


Also I assume you were totally spammed out by the actor list :P

Use the SkipPackage lines in the INI to skip over actors that spam up the ServerActors list (such as SLV201 [my servers], so my line is SkipPackage[9]=SLV201)

Jagged-Fel
17th September, 2005, 09:48 PM
It does yes, though not as colourful, it does the job just as well.

http://www.unrealize.co.uk/

http://www.unrealize.co.uk/images/Shot0003.gif
hey thanks for the link, Xconsole is just what I was looking for