PDA

View Full Version : Add Modem MAC address to ban list


HornDog
15th October, 2004, 08:57 PM
...

Wormbo
15th October, 2004, 09:23 PM
UnrealScript doesn't have access to MAC addresses. Also often the occasional cheater learns from requiring a new key and thinks twice before "testing" new cheats. Against people like ELF nothing would help, it only makes things worse for the regular player.

Limited
15th October, 2004, 09:40 PM
MAC Address's can be changed aswell, so no, sorry.

ShiningSquirrel
15th October, 2004, 10:26 PM
Sure by buying a new modem or if rented by claming that is defective to the ISP. A little more costly to buy than a new UT2004 game, and if rented a big PITA and maybe a day off work. You need not be sorry there are other programmers that might think, as I do, that your system is flawed.

No, you do not have to buy a new modem. All it takes is a router, which many people are using especially if thay have multiple computers.
On my router, changing the MAC address is simply a matter of opening a webpage interface and typing in a few keystrokes. I could change it every single game and it would be no problem at all. If you started banning by MAC address, the cheaters would just start using the routers that are easy to change and the coders like ELF would just start giving the instructions on how to change it. The bottom line is there is no way to ban a cheater if he really wants to play. New copy of the game, new IP, new MAC, it's all the same. The best you could do is make it difficult for them, but not impossible.
If it was me? I would rather have my MAC address banned then my CD key.
A new CD costs money, a new MAC address is free and simple.

Azura
15th October, 2004, 11:48 PM
I think this how a certain anticheat thingy called Punkbuster works at the moment. I'd get some information about PB and then come back after you've realized what problems can stem from the approach you're proposing.

ShiningSquirrel
15th October, 2004, 11:55 PM
Yes your right about the router but I said the modem which is not able to change. The Modems MAC is what the ISP has on file to let you access the internet. The router can only clone a computers MAC and therefore I did not say use the routers MAC address. Put a new modem on your BB account and you have no access until you register it. Good try though. :thumbup:

*EDIT*

In addition I don't recall saying to just use one (cd-key) or the other (MAC address). If course use both

I see, your talking about cable or DSL modems, many of those are just as easy to change if you own it. The cable modem I use is very similier to the router in that it uses a web interface to access it. From within that interface you can change the MAC address just like the router. All I have to do to get my ISP to use the new MAC is turn it off for a few minutes then turn it back on. Again, no big deal and easier then buying a new CD. Of course, I could just use a CD Keygen and have an unlimited number of CD keys. ;)

Limited
16th October, 2004, 12:26 AM
Punkbuster takes various hardware ID's from your PC and constructs a GUID from that. Requires 3rd part program to run.

Azura
16th October, 2004, 12:42 AM
I'm not sure but I think the downside is that it produces false positives and can get you banned from an entire game. At least that's what I heard.

ShiningSquirrel
16th October, 2004, 02:25 AM
Maybe you should read this (http://compnetworking.about.com/library/weekly/aa062202a.htm) ;)

No need, been there done that.
I program and configure network decives all day at work, it's what I do for a living.
P.S., don't believe everything you read on the internet. ;)

ArPharazon
2nd November, 2004, 04:53 PM
Windows Activation is a prime example of hardware based GUID generation. Microsoft spent millions in a vain attempt to ensure that it was hack proof and all for nothing.

Punkbuster can be spoofed via a proxy-based application, or cracked via the same methods used to break windows activation - so its far from foolproof.

Additionally, people tend to forget that PB incurs a large memory/performance overhead - especially in those games that have hooks to PB and provide ingame PB console commands - so it runs really crap.

Hardware based security will be introduced with TCPA (and dont get me started on that - its truly 'teh EVIL') - but only until some 12 yr old rocket scientist from Tibet cracks that of course ...

Zon{tsu}
11th November, 2004, 01:28 PM
I hope I am not too far off base by asking this question here, but I like the points you are discussing, and wanted to ask in hopes you might know...

Is there any type of anti-cheat for UT99 that could be used to ban mac addresses?

If not, is it possible to write one?

I know mac addresses can be changed, but I am banking on the "Slow them down at least" thing.

If someone's mac address gets banned, they are not always "Gurus" about networking, and I think it will eliminate at least 70% players too lazy to research what might be keeping them out. Especailly in UT99.

Anyhow, we play a lot of UT99 still, so if you have any cool input on that it would greatly be appreciated.

Moredhel
28th December, 2004, 06:17 PM
No need, been there done that.
I program and configure network decives all day at work, it's what I do for a living.
P.S., don't believe everything you read on the internet. ;)Indeed, canging a MAC address on most network hardware is stupidly easy, even ones that aren't software based like modems and network cards.

ShiningSquirrel
28th December, 2004, 06:39 PM
I hope I am not too far off base by asking this question here, but I like the points you are discussing, and wanted to ask in hopes you might know...

Is there any type of anti-cheat for UT99 that could be used to ban mac addresses?

If not, is it possible to write one?

I know mac addresses can be changed, but I am banking on the "Slow them down at least" thing.

If someone's mac address gets banned, they are not always "Gurus" about networking, and I think it will eliminate at least 70% players too lazy to research what might be keeping them out. Especailly in UT99.

Anyhow, we play a lot of UT99 still, so if you have any cool input on that it would greatly be appreciated.

You don't have to write anything.
Just get a "Good" router that allows filtering, something like the Cisco Catalyst 2600.
On a good router, not the home versions available at your local shop,
you can filter access by MAC address.
Be warned however, these ARE expensive compared to the home versions,
and you have to have some expertise to set them up and use them.

The other option is look for a software firewall the allows filtering.

But as has been said, it would be more trouble then it's worth.