You are an unregistered user, you can register here
Navigation

Information

Site

Donations
If you wish to make a donation you can by clicking the image below.


BeyondUnreal News

 
Go Back   The Unreal Admins Page > Forums > Unreal Admins > Unreal Tournament 3 > UT3 Server - Linux Specific

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 18th February, 2008, 05:05 PM
xoger xoger is offline
Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Question ut3 not starting

i've installed ut3 on ubuntu. when i try to run it by double clicking it in Binaries nothing happens. i right clicked it and told it to run in the terminal but it only ran for half a second. i managed to print screen it


if anyone could help that would be great

p.s if i'm being an idiot please say so
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 18th February, 2008, 05:53 PM
Al Al is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 815
Default

I don't think UT3 is for Linux yet.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 18th February, 2008, 05:59 PM
xoger xoger is offline
Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Question

then what am i trying to run
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 18th February, 2008, 06:01 PM
$cHm3rZzfR3I $cHm3rZzfR3I is offline
Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ludwigshafen / Germany
Posts: 5
Default

apt-get install wine

let it run with wine
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 18th February, 2008, 06:17 PM
xoger xoger is offline
Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Default

good suggestion i'll try that



no it didnt work thanks anyway

Last edited by xoger : 18th February, 2008 at 06:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 18th February, 2008, 06:28 PM
maDC0w's Avatar
maDC0w maDC0w is offline
Killing Spree
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 32
Default

try running it from the commandline?

go into the binaries directory and execute this command:

./ut3 Server DM-Defiance

works for me anyway. hope that helps.

Last edited by maDC0w : 18th February, 2008 at 06:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 18th February, 2008, 08:21 PM
xoger xoger is offline
Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Default

thanks thats great

what do i do after it says
Log: Bringing World UTFrontEnd.TheWorld up for play (30) at 2008.02.18-18.40.11
Log: Bringing up level for play took: 0.167418
Log: ########### Finished loading level: 3.792483 seconds
Init: Game engine initialized
Log: Initializing Game Engine Completed
Log: Ambient1 | Ambient1
Log: FSTUNClient resolved stunserver.org (192.245.12.229)


I'm a bit of a noob
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 18th February, 2008, 08:44 PM
maDC0w's Avatar
maDC0w maDC0w is offline
Killing Spree
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 32
Default

not sure what you mean by "what do i do" try connecting to the server from your windows machine and see if it works, i guess.

i'm a noob with the ut3 server too. i just installed it a few days ago on my local network to mess with. don't really enjoy the game as much as the original ut.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 18th February, 2008, 08:50 PM
xoger xoger is offline
Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Default

when i load ut3 server in the terminal it ends with
Log: Bringing World UTFrontEnd.TheWorld up for play (30) at 2008.02.18-18.40.11
Log: Bringing up level for play took: 0.167418
Log: ########### Finished loading level: 3.792483 seconds
Init: Game engine initialized
Log: Initializing Game Engine Completed
Log: Ambient1 | Ambient1
Log: FSTUNClient resolved stunserver.org (192.245.12.229)

what do you do at this point
you will have to spell it out i've used windows for most of my life
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 18th February, 2008, 09:09 PM
Al Al is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 815
Default

What he's saying is... there isn't a client available yet for Linux. Only the server. You can't PLAY UT3 under Linux. You can only have a server.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread 19th February, 2008, 03:52 PM
xoger xoger is offline
Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Default

oh i see
sorry for wasting ur time youve been a great help
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread 19th February, 2008, 03:57 PM
Al Al is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 815
Default

No problem. Epic says it will be available eventually though.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Unread 11th August, 2010, 08:18 PM
dj--alex dj--alex is offline
Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al View Post
What he's saying is... there isn't a client available yet for Linux. Only the server. You can't PLAY UT3 under Linux. You can only have a server.

You CAN play on LINUX - Just use NVIDIA and WINE

unfortunately Epic not created Linux client for UT3 yet...\

http://wow.chg.su/inside/filemgr.php...8d4fdb932c5c29

Last edited by dj--alex : 11th August, 2010 at 08:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:15 PM.


 

All pages are copyright The Unreal Admins Page.
You may not copy any pages without our express permission.