You are an unregistered user, you can register here
Navigation

Information

Site

Donations
If you wish to make a donation you can by clicking the image below.


BeyondUnreal News

 
Go Back   The Unreal Admins Page > Forums > Unreal Admins > Unreal Tournament 3 > UT3 Server - Linux Specific

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 10th January, 2008, 03:22 PM
robster3uk robster3uk is offline
Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Default UT3 Server Ubuntu - Connect

I have a UT3 dedicated server running on Ubuntu (7.10) whcih runs without error, but although I can see the game running on the server I am unable to connect to it.

The machine is in DMZ and the problem still exists.

Command line is:
DM-Arsenal?Game=UTGame.UTDeathmatch?GameMode=0?BotSki ll=1?minnetplayers=1?maxplayers=15?PureS erver=1?timelimit=35?goalscore=30?bPlayersMustBeRe ady=True?NumPlay=15?bAllowJoinInProgress=True?bAll owInvites=True?bUsesPresence=True?forcerespawn=0?b IsLanMatch=False?bIsDedicated=True?bShouldAdvertis e=True -login=***** -password=**** -Port=7777 -QueryPort=6500 -log=DedicatedServer.log -multihome=192.168.**.*** -nohomedir -unattended

Its totally driving me nuts!!!

I am sure it must have some thing to do with how Linux handles its Network connection or maybe its blocking traffic on ports or............ Any ideas ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 10th January, 2008, 07:39 PM
KRIS_PL's Avatar
KRIS_PL KRIS_PL is offline
Killing Spree
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robster3uk View Post
I have a UT3 dedicated server running on Ubuntu (7.10) whcih runs without error, but although I can see the game running on the server I am unable to connect to it.

The machine is in DMZ and the problem still exists.

Command line is:
DM-Arsenal?Game=UTGame.UTDeathmatch?GameMode=0?BotSki ll=1?minnetplayers=1?maxplayers=15?PureS erver=1?timelimit=35?goalscore=30?bPlayersMustBeRe ady=True?NumPlay=15?bAllowJoinInProgress=True?bAll owInvites=True?bUsesPresence=True?forcerespawn=0?b IsLanMatch=False?bIsDedicated=True?bShouldAdvertis e=True -login=***** -password=**** -Port=7777 -QueryPort=6500 -log=DedicatedServer.log -multihome=192.168.**.*** -nohomedir -unattended

Its totally driving me nuts!!!

I am sure it must have some thing to do with how Linux handles its Network connection or maybe its blocking traffic on ports or............ Any ideas ?
Your string is little strange, try to run server by: "ut3 server DM-Arsenal" for example and then try to connect to your server to be sure if it is realy works.

Last edited by KRIS_PL : 10th January, 2008 at 07:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 11th January, 2008, 11:43 AM
Caracca Caracca is offline
Rampage
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 60
Default

try removing the pureserver flag, it can give issue's
__________________
- http://www.cwlserver.net -
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 11th January, 2008, 03:21 PM
robster3uk robster3uk is offline
Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks, I will give that a try tonight..... A'll be back!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 13th January, 2008, 10:55 PM
robster3uk robster3uk is offline
Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Default

ok, I have tried removing the Pureserver flag and I have brought the game parameters down to the bear minimum......... I can see it but I cannot connect. I am not getting any messages in the logs indiating that someone is even trying to connect.

Any more ideas please?

Im thinking this might be some sort of linux specific network issue. I run a dedicated server on windows without a problem and I can chop and change options and start and connect without issue, its just linux.........!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 20th January, 2008, 11:04 PM
robster3uk robster3uk is offline
Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Default

ok got it working.......... Seems Linux was blocking my ports and this was obviously stopping any requests getting through. I started Firestarter and allowed the ports through and I was able to play 1 game.................... then it Crashed.. Here is the new error I am getting.

FROM LOG:
Critical: appError called:
Critical: Couldn't find file for package requested by async loading code.
Exit: Executing UObject::StaticShutdownAfterError
Log: THROW: Error opening file '' (/usr/local/ut3-dedicated/Binaries/).
Log: THROW: The file '' contains unrecognizable data
Log: THROW: The file was saved by a previous version which is not backwards compatible with this one.
Log:
Developer Backtrace:
Log: [ 1] ./ut3-bin [0x8d44a12]
Log: [ 2] [0xffffe420]
Log: [ 3] ./ut3-bin [0x8ccdcfd]
Log: [ 4] ./ut3-bin [0x8cd0bd2]
Log: [ 5] ./ut3-bin [0x8c5ec1e]
Log: [ 6] ./ut3-bin [0x8c5ee72]
Log: [ 7] ./ut3-bin [0x8cfb976]
Log: [ 8] ./ut3-bin [0x84bea8b]
Log: [ 9] ./ut3-bin [0x8437120]
Log: [10] ./ut3-bin [0x8052b72]
Log: [11] ./ut3-bin [0x804b6e2]
Log: [12] /lib/tls/i686/cmov/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe0) [0xb7dfb050]
Log: [13] ./ut3-bin [0x804adc1]
Exit: Exiting.
Exit: Name subsystem shutting down
Uninitialized: Log file closed,


Any ideas??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 23rd February, 2008, 01:15 PM
Asmodan's Avatar
Asmodan Asmodan is offline
Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany, nearby Cologne
Posts: 5
Default

I've got the same Problem, can see it but not connect from game browser, but works from console (open Ip)
__________________
irc - some ut chan:

[17:28:36] <aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa> i dont need a fucking aimbot
[17:28:55] <Neophyte> what about one thats sexually sterile?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 14th March, 2008, 02:36 PM
hachy hachy is offline
Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Default

I got exactly the same problem here.
My UT3 server including the latest update (ut3-linux-server-02202008.bin) running on a freshly installed Ubuntu Server 7.10.

The only difference is that this server is not in a DMZ, it's running in a VMware virtual machine.
Web admin works good, game shows up in game search but is holding on 'Connecting...' status.
When i look at the firewall status at the host I receive the following uitput so the firewall isn't blocking anything. Someone got a clue?

Code:
[email protected]:/etc/init.d# iptables -L
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination
[email protected]:/etc/init.d#
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:03 PM.


 

All pages are copyright The Unreal Admins Page.
You may not copy any pages without our express permission.