You are an unregistered user, you can register here
Navigation

Information

Site

Donations
If you wish to make a donation you can by clicking the image below.


BeyondUnreal News

 
Go Back   The Unreal Admins Page > Forums > Hosted Forums > AnthraXs Corner > General Chat

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #361  
Unread 24th June, 2010, 03:13 PM
Protos's Avatar
Protos Protos is offline
Godlike
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 291
Default

Timeouts are usually I/O (hardrive/low ram) related as opposed to processor related.
Slowest link in the chain ect ....
__________________
{Pro*} UT99
  #362  
Unread 24th June, 2010, 04:28 PM
Genecom Genecom is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoNY_scarface View Post
8x actually has alot of timeouts too. I think more than 6q.....Mostly P3, P4, Celerons and lower C2D Txxx and Exxx series.
This is most likely due to the heavy seige mod. Timeouts are non-existant on unmodded servers as far as I know. Anth was going to try to optimize code further for v0.8d, but I'm sure you have a dialogue with him about this.
__________________
ProjectFrag - Research & Development
- PjF - Your UT community pickup servers -
  #363  
Unread 24th June, 2010, 04:41 PM
SoNY_scarface SoNY_scarface is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Genecom View Post
This is most likely due to the heavy seige mod. Timeouts are non-existant on unmodded servers as far as I know. Anth was going to try to optimize code further for v0.8d, but I'm sure you have a dialogue with him about this.
Actually, it is interesting you would say that. I have setup a 1v1/2v2 iCTF and NW servers as well as a combo instagib server which have the same issues. I have also, for arguments sakes taken people who timeout regularly on siege to the other servers and the issue prevails. I have also tried disabling the serverside firewall, I left it disabled for a full week to test extensively but that didn't help the issue either. I even setup a rule in IPTables to explicitly allow all incoming TCP traffic on the DataLink port.

I have submitted trustworthy people to debug the issue though. I am hoping the issue gets fixed though

In case server specs may come into question, we are running a dedicated Corei7 920.....
__________________





Last edited by SoNY_scarface : 24th June, 2010 at 04:43 PM.
  #364  
Unread 24th June, 2010, 07:20 PM
Genecom Genecom is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoNY_scarface View Post
Actually, it is interesting you would say that. I have setup a 1v1/2v2 iCTF and NW servers as well as a combo instagib server which have the same issues. I have also, for arguments sakes taken people who timeout regularly on siege to the other servers and the issue prevails. I have also tried disabling the serverside firewall, I left it disabled for a full week to test extensively but that didn't help the issue either. I even setup a rule in IPTables to explicitly allow all incoming TCP traffic on the DataLink port.

I have submitted trustworthy people to debug the issue though. I am hoping the issue gets fixed though

In case server specs may come into question, we are running a dedicated Corei7 920.....
Oh, that indeed is fascinating in some ways. Didn't ofc have all those facts beforehand why I made my assumptions. ( Or claims actually )
My servers are rather high spec dedicated aswell, and what mainly differs are perhaps OS and hardware. Odd indeed, tho I can only say that on those servers under my control there's 1 timeout / 50 tops, and that is on slower hardware.

interesting problem, I might perhaps come up with un idea or two later tonight. I'll try installing Siege actually and see what happens just for fun
__________________
ProjectFrag - Research & Development
- PjF - Your UT community pickup servers -
  #365  
Unread 24th June, 2010, 10:21 PM
SoNY_scarface SoNY_scarface is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,726
Default

I did tell anth he could setup a private server on my dedi if he wanted to test. I do have a block of 10 ip addresses which are free for use. I am running Ubuntu 10.04 LTS and possibly could be the issue. I was running Ubuntu 8.04 until I thought it maybe server side OS related, but that was ruled out (to an extent) when I upgraded to 9.04, 9.10 and then 10.04 testing each release for less timeouts but no luck

As I've said, the dev team have access to my dedi and are free to set it up if they like.

I also have a dedicated Xeon which has the same issues but also has the same OS so not really a good bench in terms of OS related issues since Anth did mention he does not have source of Linux headers....


What specs are your servers and CPU to virtual server ratio?
__________________





Last edited by SoNY_scarface : 24th June, 2010 at 10:27 PM.
  #366  
Unread 24th June, 2010, 10:27 PM
Genecom Genecom is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoNY_scarface View Post
I did tell anth he could setup a private server on my dedi if he wanted to test. I do have a block of 10 ip addresses which are free for use. I am running Ubuntu 10.04 LTS and possibly could be the issue. I was running Ubuntu 8.04 until I thought it maybe server side OS related, but that was ruled out (to an extent) when I upgraded to 10.04

As I've said, the dev team have access to my dedi and are free to set it up if they like

What specs are your servers? I also have a dedicated Xeon which has the same issues.
Dedis are dualcore xeons running Windows 2k8 server and 2 boxes quad core xeons running centos with no issues what so ever
__________________
ProjectFrag - Research & Development
- PjF - Your UT community pickup servers -
  #367  
Unread 25th June, 2010, 10:00 AM
SoNY_scarface SoNY_scarface is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Genecom View Post
Dedis are dualcore xeons running Windows 2k8 server and 2 boxes quad core xeons running centos with no issues what so ever
I also have a Dual Xeon 2.8ghz, I guess it may well be an OS issue but CentOS being a similar to Ubuntu, does cast a few doubts.

Anyway, hope this gets fixed soon
__________________




  #368  
Unread 26th June, 2010, 11:57 AM
QoS QoS is offline
Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Hi guys) can you help me?
Each 7 minutes I have timeout on servers where is ACE 0.6, 0.7 or 0.8 (

http://s44.radikal.ru/i103/1004/91/5abc00252f09.jpg
  #369  
Unread 26th June, 2010, 01:42 PM
medor medor is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,821
Default

The problem is your quality of your connection not ACE

It whase same with UTDC ?

UT.ini
[Engine.Player]
ConfiguredInternetSpeed=10000 mini 10000 max 20000 try 20000

look looks antivirus firewall router sypares ...
__________________
Files for UT99 utfiles All new releases and updates are listed here All news
Most popular is UnrealTournament-V3 With over 14000 visits to date.It is an optimized UT99 to download.
  #370  
Unread 26th June, 2010, 06:59 PM
QoS QoS is offline
Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Default

don't have problem with UTDC.
try off antivir and firewall, but that not help me.
maybe I have the crappy provider... or brain ))))

Last edited by QoS : 26th June, 2010 at 07:28 PM.
  #371  
Unread 29th June, 2010, 06:10 PM
Aces.LinuX Aces.LinuX is offline
Rampage
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 59
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthraX View Post
@ Killah: v0.8b is being tested on the "usual servers". I wanted to have it out as a public version by now but there is a problem with the hardware id's and my thesis is still keeping me busy (until the 23rd). Besides the hardware id's, I'm pretty satisfied with the current beta version. After the 23rd I'll have a week to work on ACE fulltime so I can finish the next public beta.
Can't Wait
  #372  
Unread 29th June, 2010, 08:00 PM
Chronox's Avatar
Chronox Chronox is offline
Rampage
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colombia
Posts: 95
Default

Hope this will be the last week until next public release =p
__________________
  #373  
Unread 29th June, 2010, 09:53 PM
Genecom Genecom is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chronox View Post
Hope this will be the last week until next public release =p
Release is imminent!
Final bug trial of next public beta is being tested at the moment and it's defo a quality product.

Please check http://utgl.unrealadmin.org/ACE/changes.txt for updates.
__________________
ProjectFrag - Research & Development
- PjF - Your UT community pickup servers -
  #374  
Unread 30th June, 2010, 05:59 AM
{DOU}Draco {DOU}Draco is offline
Dominating
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Genecom View Post
Release is imminent!
Final bug trial of next public beta is being tested at the moment and it's defo a quality product.

Please check http://utgl.unrealadmin.org/ACE/changes.txt for updates.
Code:
* [FIXED] Mousewheel macros (logitech/razer mice) were being ignored
What exactly does this mean? I use my side buttons to change weapons, not to run macros. How is this going to affect me?

~Johnny Jones
__________________
***Dang! I'm a member of [FuN]***

  #375  
Unread 1st July, 2010, 11:58 AM
Protos's Avatar
Protos Protos is offline
Godlike
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 291
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Genecom View Post
Release is imminent!
Final bug trial of next public beta is being tested at the moment and it's defo a quality product.
Update !
__________________
{Pro*} UT99
  #376  
Unread 1st July, 2010, 12:01 PM
AnthraX's Avatar
AnthraX AnthraX is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ghent (Belgium)
Posts: 1,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by {DOU}Draco View Post
Code:
* [FIXED] Mousewheel macros (logitech/razer mice) were being ignored
What exactly does this mean? I use my side buttons to change weapons, not to run macros. How is this going to affect me?

~Johnny Jones
ACE v0.8b broke some mouse buttons (as in they didn't work), I fixed it in v0.8c
  #377  
Unread 1st July, 2010, 03:51 PM
{DOU}Draco {DOU}Draco is offline
Dominating
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthraX View Post
ACE v0.8b broke some mouse buttons (as in they didn't work), I fixed it in v0.8c
I see. Very cool that you fixed it. Just about everyone I know uses the extra mouse buttons to change weapons and that would have really been a pain. Excellent. We are eagerly awaiting the arrival of the release. Thanks for your time, effort, and knowledge.

~Johnny Jones
__________________
***Dang! I'm a member of [FuN]***

  #378  
Unread 1st July, 2010, 09:31 PM
qwerty's Avatar
qwerty qwerty is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoNY_scarface View Post
I also have a Dual Xeon 2.8ghz, I guess it may well be an OS issue but CentOS being a similar to Ubuntu, does cast a few doubts.

Anyway, hope this gets fixed soon
nice BT server name its nice to see how unoriginal people can be. Its cool you made a BT server, but to mimic my servers name is quite flattering yet completely DOUCHE at the same time.

sorry to hijack thread all just noticed this guys sad attempt to copy me and my servers success.
__________________
https://www.vulpinemission.com
ROCKET-X8 Server
MONSTERHUNT w/ NALI WEAPONS 3 + RX8
BUNNYTRACK NY
  #379  
Unread 1st July, 2010, 10:13 PM
SoNY_scarface SoNY_scarface is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,726
Default

I did not realise the word BUNNYTRACK and HOUSE was copyrighted by yourself
__________________




  #380  
Unread 2nd July, 2010, 12:45 AM
qwerty's Avatar
qwerty qwerty is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 676
Default

whatever you say man .. your a piece of garbage.
__________________
https://www.vulpinemission.com
ROCKET-X8 Server
MONSTERHUNT w/ NALI WEAPONS 3 + RX8
BUNNYTRACK NY
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:13 PM.


 

All pages are copyright The Unreal Admins Page.
You may not copy any pages without our express permission.