You are an unregistered user, you can register here
Navigation

Information

Site

Donations
If you wish to make a donation you can by clicking the image below.


BeyondUnreal News

 
Go Back   The Unreal Admins Page > Forums > Front Page > Downloads > Unreal Tournament > Addons & Mutators

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 1st January, 2006, 01:12 AM
Matthew Matthew is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,382
Default ACM (Auto Change Maps)

-
[ACM] Auto Change Maps
==================================================
FOR : UT 436-440-451 Windows/Linux >DEDICATED< Servers
Version 1.03 January, 2006
By MSuLL
==================================================
Original Idea by Cratos
NOTE: This modification's code is original and was NOT taken
from MapVote LA or any other modifications.
==================================================




What is ACM ? :
================
ACM is a ServerActor which will make the server switch to a random
map from a pre-defined list of up to 64 maps. With these
64 enteries, you can specify:

The map (example: CTF-Coret)
The game class (example: Botpack.CTFGame)
The desired mutators (example: BDBMapvote304.BDBMapvote,Revenge.Revenge)





Thanks To:
============
+ Beta Testers (All players of WhartHog's PigPen)
+ UnrealWiki
+ UnrealAdmin.org
+ Cratos of course! After all he had the idea first





Changelog:
*************
---------------
| Version 1.03 |
---------------
- Timer starts after player exit if bOnlyChangeOnce is True


---------------
| Version 1.02 |
---------------
- Added bOnlyChangeOnce option
- Cleaned up some of the functions


---------------
| Version 1.00 |
---------------
- Initial Release
Attached Files
File Type: zip AutoChangeMaps100.zip (4.4 KB, 384 views)
File Type: zip AutoChangeMaps102.zip (4.8 KB, 384 views)
File Type: zip AutoChangeMaps103.zip (4.9 KB, 515 views)

Last edited by Matthew : 3rd January, 2006 at 04:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 1st January, 2006, 09:52 PM
Matthew Matthew is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,382
Default

Ah awesome - thanks for the adding Azazel
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 1st January, 2006, 10:00 PM
Rush's Avatar
Rush Rush is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,156
Default

Very nice idea
__________________
[email address]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 1st January, 2006, 04:38 PM
[BSC]MasterJohnny [BSC]MasterJohnny is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hajdúszoboszló, Hungary
Posts: 823
Default

Maybe it's the hangover, but what is this exactly good for? Doesn't MapvoteLA have this feature too?
Code:
bEnableEmptyServerLevelSwitch=True
EmptyServerLevelSwitchTimeMins=15
MapListIfNooneVoted=2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 1st January, 2006, 04:42 PM
Matthew Matthew is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,382
Default

A few things with that -

A) I don't use Mapvote LA (I created this for myself, and only decided to release it later on)
B) Refer to A
C) I'm not the only one not using Mapvote LA (which is why it's good for something)
D) I believe that in Mapvote LA you must make it pick from your maplist as a whole (if I'm not mistaken). Using this mod, you can have it choose anywhere from between 4 maps, all the way to 64 maps.


That is certainly no diss on Mapvote LA though - it freaking owns! The only reason I don't use it is that I don't need it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 1st January, 2006, 04:51 PM
PizzaMan's Avatar
PizzaMan PizzaMan is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bergen - Norway
Posts: 2,389
Default

Does it keep on switching maps forever, like MapVoteLA does? Or does it just switch once if the game has not started?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 1st January, 2006, 04:56 PM
Matthew Matthew is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,382
Default

It switches after the timer hits whatever minute you specify. However I can add that option pretty easily I'd bet
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 1st January, 2006, 05:26 PM
PizzaMan's Avatar
PizzaMan PizzaMan is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bergen - Norway
Posts: 2,389
Default

The problem with switching maps every x minute, is that you will get a ton of empty UTStats logs. So if it could switch only once until there are some players on the server, that would be cool. Like wait x minutes after the last player leaves, then swich map.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 1st January, 2006, 11:04 PM
Matthew Matthew is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,382
Default

I thought matches must have at least 1 player to be logged by UTStats - or no?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 1st January, 2006, 11:14 PM
Matthew Matthew is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,382
Default

Yes I just checked my server's logs. UTStats doesn't process any matches that have one or no players.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread 2nd January, 2006, 01:40 AM
PizzaMan's Avatar
PizzaMan PizzaMan is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bergen - Norway
Posts: 2,389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew
Yes I just checked my server's logs. UTStats doesn't process any matches that have one or no players.
So you dont have any empty logs in the backup folder?

I was pretty sure that it would still create a logfile that must be ftp'ed and parsed. You will then get more empty logfiles than real ones, and a bunch of useless files are annoying when making backups and such.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread 2nd January, 2006, 01:43 AM
Matthew Matthew is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,382
Default

Yes it seems to still create a logfile and crap

|o| I have no use for it - but I'll be sure to add the option

Last edited by Matthew : 2nd January, 2006 at 02:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Unread 2nd January, 2006, 08:42 AM
[BSC]MasterJohnny [BSC]MasterJohnny is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hajdúszoboszló, Hungary
Posts: 823
Default

Sorry it wasn't ment to be some kind of critic, I just didn't know that life exists without mapvote
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Unread 2nd January, 2006, 09:20 AM
Rush's Avatar
Rush Rush is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,156
Default

And besides the fact that empty logs are being generated it is a bit loss of resources to restart an empty server ... as we know it kills the cpu for a little moment.
__________________
[email address]
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Unread 2nd January, 2006, 01:54 PM
Matthew Matthew is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,382
Default

All done. I'll get it zipped up and ready to go.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Unread 2nd January, 2006, 02:25 PM
PizzaMan's Avatar
PizzaMan PizzaMan is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bergen - Norway
Posts: 2,389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rush
it is a bit loss of resources to restart an empty server ... as we know it kills the cpu for a little moment.
I see two reasons for switching map when the server is empty:

- you can switch to a small map, so that people will bother to join.

- you can avoid those 237854 minute matches in UTStats.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Unread 2nd January, 2006, 02:44 PM
|KOA|The_Dave's Avatar
|KOA|The_Dave |KOA|The_Dave is offline
Godlike
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 345
Default

Well, the reason I like having the map switch randomly every 30 minutes while the server is unpopulated has more to do with players that might pass up the server based on what map it's idling on.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Unread 2nd January, 2006, 05:57 PM
Matthew Matthew is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,382
Default

... which was the problem on my server.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Unread 2nd January, 2006, 07:56 PM
Matthew Matthew is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew
All done. I'll get it zipped up and ready to go.
Finished / Top Post Updated
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Unread 3rd January, 2006, 05:06 AM
PizzaMan's Avatar
PizzaMan PizzaMan is offline
Holy Shit!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bergen - Norway
Posts: 2,389
Thumbs up

Installed it, works fine

Except for one thing

I use these settings:

Code:
EmptyMins=30
bOnlyChangeOnce=True
I saw this in the reporter channel this morning:

- Server was started after I installed this actor, default map was loaded
- Time exceeded EmptyMins, it was 50 minutes or so
- A player joined, and left after a few seconds
- The map changed after about a minute

Would it be possible for you to change it so that the EmptyMins countdown does not start until a player has joined?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:31 PM.


 

All pages are copyright The Unreal Admins Page.
You may not copy any pages without our express permission.